Contact Us

Gilpin County Building Locations, Departments & Officials

To go directly to a department's information in this document, please click on the department name listed below:

Administration & County Commissioners
Assessor
Clerk & Recorder
Combined Courts 
Community Center & Park & Recreation Department
Community Development
Coroner
CSU Extension
Emergency Services
Facilities Manager & Maintenance
Finance
Human Resources
Human Services
Library
Parks and Recreation
Public Health Agency
Public Works
Sheriff / Jail / Dispatch
Trash Transfer Station
Treasurer
Veteran Service Officer

 

ADMINISTRATION / COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
203 Eureka Street, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5214
Fax: 303-582-5440
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Gilpin County Commissioners
District 1 - Ron Engels, rengels@gilpincounty.org
District 2 - Linda Isenhart, lisenhart@gilpincounty.org
District 3 - Gail Watson, gwatson@gilpincounty.org
County Manager
Deputy Clerk to the Board - Sharon Cate, scate@gilpincounty.org
Web/Events/911 Coordinator - Vicki Nemec, vnemec@gilpincounty.org
general e-mail address - pubcomment@gilpincounty.org
back to top

ASSESSOR
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 338, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5451
Fax: 303-565-1796
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
County Assessor - Anne Schafer, aschafer@gilpincounty.org
general email address for all information - assessor@gilpincounty.org
back to top

CLERK AND RECORDER
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 429, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5321
Fax: 303-565-1797
Hours: 8:00 to 5:30, Monday through Friday
County Clerk - Colleen Stewart
general e-mail address - gcclerk@gilpincounty.org
Election e-mail address - gcelections@gilpincounty.org
Motor Vehicle e-mail address - gcmotorvehicle@gilpincounty.org
Recordings e-mail address - gcrecording@gilpincounty.org
website - http://co.gilpin.co.us/ClerkRecorder/default.htm
back to top

COMBINED COURTS
The courts are located in the Justice Center are State of Colorado Offices. Please call 303-582-5522 for information.
back to top

COMMUNITY CENTER/ PARKS & RECREATION DEPARTMENT

250 Norton Drive, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-1453
Fax: 303-582-5404
Community Center Director - Kyle Benedict
e-mail address - kbenedict@gilpincounty.org
general e-mail address - gcrec@gilpincounty.org
website - http://gilpinrecreation.com
back to top

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (Building/Planning/Zoning)
203 Eureka Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 661, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5831
Fax: 303-565-1796
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Community Development Director - Stephen Strohminger
e-mail address - sstrohminger@gilpincounty.org
Planner - Dan Horn
e-mail address -dhorn@gilpincounty.org
Office Manager - Tami Archer
e-mail address - tarcher@gilpincounty.org 
web site - http://www.gilpincounty.org/cms/one.aspx?portalid=9285259&pageid=11073750
FOR ENVIRONMENTAL INFORMATION PLEASE GO TO PUBLIC HEALTH SITE.
Go There
back to top

CORONER
P.O. Box 333, Central City, CO 80427
Office Phone: 303-515-4333
Cell Phone and Best Contact Number: 303-435-7061
Coroner - Zane Laubhan
e-mail address - zanel@gilpincounty.org
back to top

CSU EXTENSION
230 Norton Drive, Black Hawk, CO 80422 (Located at the Exhibit Building at fairgrounds)
Phone: 303-582-9106
Fax: 303-582-5062
Hours: Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m., Monday through Friday
Agent hours are 8:30 am - 4:30 pm, however please note that agent is often in the field.
Extension Agent- Irene Shonle
e-mail address - irene.shonle@colostate.edu
office email - extension@cgilpincounty.org
website - www.extension.colostate.edu/gilpin
back to top

GILPIN COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES
2960 Dory Hill Road, Ste 300, room 222 Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 720-536-2853
back to top

FACILITIES MANAGER AND MAINTENANCE DEPARTMENT - currently a division of Public Works
255 Braecher Park Rd. , Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5004
Maintenance Supervisor - Dirk Matthews
Cell: 303-888-6443
Phone:
303-515-4324
Fax: 303-951-3675
e-mail address - dmatthews@gilpincounty.org
back to top

FINANCE
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
495 Apex Valley Road, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-951-3671
Fax: 303-951-3675
Hours: Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Finance Director - Clorinda Smith
e-mail address - csmith@gilpincounty.org
Finance Clerk - Judy Stuerenberg
e-mail address - gilpinfinance@gilpincounty.org
back to top

HUMAN RESOURCES
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
495 Apex Valley Road, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-951-3673
Fax: 303-951-3675
Human Resources Director
- Susan Allen, suallen@gilpincounty.org 
303-951-3673
back to top

HUMAN SERVICES
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 100, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5444
Fax: 303-582-5798
Human Services Director - Sherrin Ashcraft
e-mail address - Sherrin.Ashcraft@state.co.us
back to top

LIBRARY
15131 Highway 119
Black Hawk CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5777
Fax: 303-582-3938
Closed Sunday & Monday
Library Director - Michael Carlson
web page - http://gilpinlibrary.org
general e-mail address - gilpinlib@gilpincounty.org
back to top

PUBLIC HEALTH AGENCY
101 Norton Drive, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5803
Fax: 303-582-9063
Public Health Director- Mark B. Johnson, MD
Gilpin County Public Health Coordinator -Bonnie Albrecht, 303-582-5803 ext.13
Holly Lanthier, office assistant
general email address - gilpinph@gilpincounty.org
back to top

PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT
255 Braecher Park Rd., Black Hawk, CO 80422
gcroads@gilpincounty.org
Phone: 303-582-5004
Fax: 303-582-3291
Director: Gordon Thompson
Office Hours: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM M-F. Answering Machine will answer during off-hours.
back to top

SHERIFF/JAIL/DISPATCH
SHERIFF ADMINISTRATION
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-1060
Fax: 303-582-3813
TTY/TDD Machine - 303-582-0745
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Sheriff Bruce Hartman
e-mail address - bhartman@gilpincounty.org
Undersheriff Jon Bayne
e-mail address - jbayne@gilpincounty.org
Cherokee Blake, Administrative Services Coordinator
e-mail address - cblake@gilpincounty.org
general e-mail address - sheriff@cgilpincounty.org
web page - http://co.gilpin.co.us/Sheriff/sheriffindex.htm
JAIL
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 350, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-3576
Fax: 303-582-3574Visiting Hours:
Saturday and Sunday - 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday - 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Jail Administration- Captain Tonia Kapke
e-mail address - kapke@gilpincounty.org
DISPATCH
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Emergency - 9 1 1
Non-emergency - 303-582-5500
Hours: 24 Hour Coverage
Dispatch Supervisor - Lyssa Gray, lgray@gilpincounty.org
general e-mail address - gcdispatch@gilpincounty.org
VICTIM SERVICES
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Captain Tonia Kapke
Office - 303-582-5926, Fax: 582-6018
back to top

TRASH TRANSFER STATION
physical - 278 Jankowski Drive, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Click here for trash site details and rates.
Phone: For more information please call 303-582-5004 weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
back to top

TREASURER
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 368, Central City, CO 80427
Office: - 303-582-5222
Fax: 303-582-3086
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Treasurer: Alynn Huffman
general e-mail address - gctreasurer@gilpincounty.org
back to top

VETERAN SERVICE OFFICE
Gilpin Justice Center
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 100, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Veterans' Service Officer - Position currently open.
Office: 303-582-5444 ext 1103
Cell:720-339-1173
email: lpohl@gilpincounty.org

back to top

Gilpin County | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2018 West Corporation.