The official website of
Gilpin County

Colorado
203 Eureka Street, Central City, COLORADO
303.582.5214

 

Commissioners

Community Center Departments Employment Events

 

Gilpin County Building Locations, Departments & Officials

The Old Courthouse
203 Eureka Street
Central City, CO 80427

Administration,
Assessor,
Clerk & Recorder, Commissioners, Community Development,
Treasurer

The Justice Center
2960 Dory Hill Road
Black Hawk, CO 80422

Combined Courts, Coroner,
District Attorney,
Human Services,
Jail, Sheriff,
Victim Services
Emergency Services

Community Center & Exhibit Building
Parks & Recreation,
CSU Extension

The Apex Building
495 Apex Valley Road,
Black Hawk, CO 80422

Human Resources,
Finance,
Facilities

Public Works Facility
Public Works Department
 

Public Health Agency Building
Public Health

To go directly to a department's information in this document, please click on the department name listed below:

The Combined Courts located in the Justice Center are State of Colorado Offices.  Please call 303-582-5522 for information.
Administration & County Commissioners
Assessor
Clerk & Recorder
Community Center & Park & Recreation Department
Community Development
Coroner
CSU Extension
Emergency Services
Facilities Manager & Maintenance
Finance
Human Resources
Human Services
Library
Public Health Agency
Public Works
Sheriff / Jail / Dispatch
Trash Transfer Station
Treasurer
Veteran Service Officer

ADMINISTRATION / COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
203 Eureka Street, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5214
Fax: 303-582-5440
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Gilpin County Commissioners
District 1 - Ron Engles, rengles@co.gilpin.co.us
District 2 - Linda Isenhart, lisenhart@co.gilpin.co.us
District 3 - Gail Watson,gwatson@co.gilipin.co.us
County Manager - Leslie Klusmire, lklusmire@co.gilpin.co.us
Deputy Clerk to the Board - Sharon Cate, scate@co.gilpin.co.us
Web/Events/911 Coordinator - Vicki Nemec, vnemec@co.gilpin.co.us
general e-mail address pubcomment@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

ASSESSOR
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 338, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5451
Fax: 303-565-1796
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
County Assessor - Anne Schafer, aschafer@co.gilpin.co.us
general email address for all information - assessor@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

CLERK AND RECORDER
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 429, Central City, CO 80427
Phone: 303-582-5321
Fax: 303-565-1797
Hours: 8:00 to 5:30, Monday through Friday
County Clerk   Colleen Stewart
general e-mail address gcclerk@co.gilpin.co.us
Election e-mail address - gcelections@co.gilpin.co.us
Motor Vehicle e-mail address - gcmotorvehicle@co.gilpin.co.us
Recordings e-mail address - gcrecording@co.gilpin.co.us
website - http://co.gilpin.co.us/ClerkRecorder/default.htm
back to top

COMMUNITY CENTER/ PARKS & RECREATION DEPARTMENT
250 Norton Drive, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-582-1453
Fax: 303-582-5404
general e-mail address - gcrec@co.gilpin.co.us
website - http://gilpinrecreation.com
back to top

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (Building/Planning/Zoning)
203 Eureka Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 661, Central City, CO 80427
Phone:  303-582-5831
Fax: 303-565-1796
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Community Development Director - Stephen Strohminger
e-mail address Pending
Planner - Dan Horn
e-mail address dhorn@co.gilpin.co.us
Office Assistant - Tami Archer
e-mail address - tarcher@co.gilpin.co.us

web site - http://co.gilpin.co.us/CommunityDevelop/CDHomePage.htm
FOR ISDS (septic) OR ENVIRONMENTAL INFORMATION PLEASE GO TO PUBLIC HEALTH SITE. 
Go There
back to top

CORONER
P.O. Box 333, Central City, CO 80427
Office Phone: 303-515-4333
Cell Phone and Best Contact Number: 303-435-7061

Coroner Zane Laubhan
e-mail address zanel@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

CSU EXTENSION
230 Norton Drive,  Black Hawk, CO  80422 (Located at the Exhibit Building at fairgrounds)
Phone: 303-582-9106
Fax: 303-582-5062
Hours: Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m., Monday through Friday
Agent hours are 8:30 am - 4:30 pm, however please note that agent is often in the field.
Extension Agent- Irene Shonle
e-mail address - irene.shonle@colostate.edu
office email - extension@co.gilpin.co.us
website - www.extension.colostate.edu/gilpin
back to top

Gilpin County Emergency Services
2960 Dory Hill Road, Ste 300, room 222 Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone:  720-536-2853
back to top

FACILITIES MANAGER AND MAINTENANCE DEPARTMENT - currently a division of Public Works
255 Braecher Park Rd. , Black Hawk, CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5004
Maintenance Supervisor - Dirk Matthews
Cell: 303-888-6443
Phone:
303-515-4324
Fax: 303-951-3675
e-mail address dmatthews@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

FINANCE
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
495 Apex Valley Road, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-951-3671
Fax: 303-951-3675
Hours: Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Finance Director - Clorinda Smith
e-mail address - csmith@co.gilpin.co.us
Finance Clerk - Judy Stuerenberg
e-mail address - gilpinfinance@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top


HUMAN RESOURCES
P.O. Box 366, Central City, CO 80427
495 Apex Valley Road, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-951-3673
Fax: 303-951-3675
Human Resources Director
- Susan Allen, suallen@co.gilpin.co.us 303-951-3673

HUMAN SERVICES
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 100, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-582-5444
Fax: 303-582-5798
Human Services Director Betty Donovan
e-mail address - elizabeth.donovan@state.co.us
back to top

LIBRARY
15131 Highway 119
Black Hawk CO 80422
Phone: 303-582-5777
Fax: 303-582-3938
Closed Sunday & Monday
Library Director Michael Carlson
web page - http://gilpinlibrary.org
general e-mail address gilpinlib@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

PUBLIC HEALTH AGENCY
101 Norton Drive, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-582-5803
Fax: 303-582-9063
Public Health Director- Mark B. Johnson, MD
Gilpin County Public Health Coordinator -Bonnie Albrecht, 303-582-5803 ext.13
Holly Lanthier, office assistant
general email address - gilpinph@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT
255 Braecher Park Rd., Black Hawk, CO 80422
gcroads@co.gilpin.co.us
Phone: 303-582-5004
Fax: 303-582-3291
Director: Gordon Thompson
Office Hours: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM M-F. Answering Machine will answer during off-hours.
back to top

SHERIFF/JAIL/DISPATCH
SHERIFF ADMINISTRATION
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-582-1060
Fax: 303-582-3813
TTY/TDD Machine - 303-582-0745
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Sheriff Bruce Hartman
e-mail address - bhartman@co.gilpin.co.us
Undersheriff Jon Bayne
e-mail address - jbayne@co.gilpin.co.us
Cherokee Blake, Administrative Services Coordinator
e-mail address - cblake@co.gilpin.co.us
general e-mail address - sheriff@co.gilpin.co.us
web page - http://co.gilpin.co.us/Sheriff/sheriffindex.htm
JAIL
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 350, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Phone: 303-582-3576
Fax: 303-582-3574Visiting Hours:
Saturday and Sunday - 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday - 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Jail Administration- Captain Tonia Kapke
e-mail address - kapke@co.gilpin.co.us
DISPATCH
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Emergency - 9 1 1
Non-emergency - 303-582-5500
Hours: 24 Hour Coverage
Dispatch Supervisor Lyssa Gray, lgray@co.gilpin.co.us
general e-mail address gcdispatch@co.gilpin.co.us
VICTIM SERVICES
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 300, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Captain Tonia Kapke
Office - 303-582-5926, Fax: 582-6018
back to top

TRASH TRANSFER STATION
physical - 278 Jankowski Drive, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Click here for trash site details and rates.
Phone: For more information please call 303-582-5004 weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
back to top

TREASURER
203 Eureka Street, 1st Floor
P.O. Box 368, Central City, CO 80427
Office: - 303-582-5222
Fax: 303-582-3086
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Treasurer: Alynn Huffman
general e-mail address gctreasurer@co.gilpin.co.us
back to top

VETERAN SERVICE OFFICE

Gilpin Justice Center
2960 Dory Hill Road, Suite 100, Black Hawk, CO  80422
Veterans' Service Officer - Position currently open.
Office: 303-582-5444 ext 1103
Cell:720-339-1173
email: rwinfrey@co.gilpin.co.us



back to top